London County Council Election 1907

Political and Tariff Reform Posters image

Page contents > The London County Council | Images

These 22 posters are taken from a larger collection of papers illustrating the 1907 London County Council (LCC) Election. The complete collection description is available through the Archives catalogue. The collection consists of 2 folders' worth of leaflets, notes and replies to questions by Graham Wallas, who was London School of Economics’ first professor of Political Science.

The collection has a particular focus on the Progressive Party who were in control of the LCC from 1889 until 1907. The 1907 election saw the Municipal Reform Party, who were previously known as the Moderates, take control. From 1934 onwards Labour had overall control of the council.

The London County Council

The London County Council (LCC) was the main local government unit for the London area from 1889 to 1965. The LCC was elected every three years and from 1889 to 1907 the majority group were the Progressives who were linked to the Liberal Party in national politics. The Moderate Party, which changed to the Municipal Reform Party in 1906, was allied to the Conservative Party and held overall control from 1907 until 1934. Labour held overall control of the LCC from 1934 until the LCC was replaced as the top-level of local government by the Greater London Council (GLC) in 1965.

Image Gallery


Licensing information

CC-BY-NC-SA logoThis item is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike (CC BY-NC-SA 3.0) license.

This license lets you remix, tweak, and build upon this work non-commercially, as long as you credit us and license your new creations under identical terms.