Fabian Society and Young Fabians

Fabian Tracts

The Fabian Society started publishing tracts in 1884, and included in this site are most tracts up to 2000. Many of the early tracts were written by LSE founders George Bernard Shaw and Sidney Webb. Among the many other notable authors in the collection are:

  • Clement Attlee
  • Tony Benn
  • Tony Blair
  • Gordon Brown
  • Edward Carpenter
  • G D H Cole
  • Robin Cook
  • Tony Crosland
  • R H S Crossman
  • Denis Healey
  • Harold Laski
  • David Lipsey
  • Kingsley Martin
  • Peter Shore
  • Chris Smith
  • Richard Titmuss
  • Peter Townsend
  • Beatrice Webb
  • Harold Wilson

The tracts relate to a great variety of topics including:

There are also biographies of well-known progressives: